Coronavirus: Foreign Office Travel Advice

For the latest medical advice, visit

In response to coronavirus measures, the Foreign and Commonwealth Office are advising against all but essential foreign travel to tackle the spread of coronavirus. Full travel advice can be found here.

The government have announced new safety measures for all UK arrivals, to protect our country against a second wave of coronavirus infections. The Home Secretary has announced new measures, including:

  • Contact locater forms so they can be contacted if they, or someone they may have been in contact with develops the disease.
  • Self-isolation for 14 days, and they could be contacted regularly to ensure compliance.
  • Enforcement, with any breach of self-isolation subject to a £1,000 fixed penalty notice in England or potential prosecution and unlimited fine. The level of fine could increase if the risk of infection from abroad increases.
  • Spot checks to ensure compliance with self-isolation requirements.

The Transport Secretary has announced that we will reopen travel routes with lower risk countries.

  • From 10 July, people returning from countries including Germany, France, Spain and Italy will be able to enter England without needing to self-isolate for 14 days. Passengers will still be required to provide contact information on arrival in the UK.
  • The Foreign Office will also set out exemptions for a number of destinations from its global advisory against ‘all but essential’ international travel, and changes will come into effect on 4 July 2020.

ABTA – The Travel Association, is providing information for UK customers, you can access their advice here.